Round Two?

Greetings dear reader! Phoenix here with a burning question: how do you decide if you want to go out with someone a second time?

You are probably thinking: “what a silly question, of course you’ll know if the date was good or bad”.  I assure you, I don’t have a clue.

Since setting off on this journey a week ago, I’ve gone out with six different people – and have a seventh date set for tonight (and one next week).  Clearly I can’t manage to date eight different people – but I enjoyed talking to nearly all of these matches.

Part of the struggle I’m having is due to the fact that dating websites do the work for you.  Before you go out with someone, you know if you are attracted to them (at least as they appear in photos) and you know their politics and interests are aligned with yours.  That eliminates 70% of the reasons to stop dating someone.

Perhaps the problem is that I’m just a great conversationalist (you don’t know me, but that is sarcasm).  All but one of the dates has lasted at least three hours – hours filled with enjoyable conversation about politics, families, and interests.  I have literally enjoyed getting to know all (except for one) of these individuals.  How do you decide to go out with a second time?

I know that one person is out of the running to get to keep dating me.  That date occurred earlier today.  On paper he should probably be my best match – our politics and interests are all aligned.  The problem?  He barely stopped talking for me to get a word in edgewise.  That would have been OK if he was funny, but he is even more serious than me (and I am pretty serious, my online profile contains exactly one humorous remark).  Clearly dating this person would result in me being bored by the very things I love to talk about.

 

That leaves me with seven (assuming these last two dates go well).

You may say the issue is chemistry – but I feel both complete chemistry when I’m with these people and absolutely none when we are apart.  I’m not sitting at home pining after one, waiting for them to text me (presumably because there are so many so my phone is blowing up).

I did have sex with one, so I guess that means he gets to see me again…

So, help me, dear reader.  Tell me stories of bad dates you’ve had.  How have you decided who to go out with a second time?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

